notes

Books-served-up-on-a-cake-plate, 2012 Holiday Edition

In books, storytelling on January 1, 2013 at 1:47 am

Last year, I took a decades-old cake plate passed on to me by my mother and piled it high with beautiful books with red or red-and-white spines in celebration of the holidays; on my first try, I realized that this was too much of a good thing, and I added in a few books with striking black, white or gray-hued spines for contrast.

The books-on-a-cake-plate display is becoming a bookish decorating tradition along with our  picture-books-as-art decor. (During the rest of the year, the color scheme is all over the board.)

So which red & white books made the cake plate this year?  And which contrast books? Take a look.

IMG_1308

 

While there are a couple of encore appearances, I tried to put together a new and different lineup for 2012. The stack I pulled from my shelves this year includes grownup novels, kids’ literature, nonfiction … books from years back and books from the past year or so … wildly popular current bestsellers (some I’ve read and others that are on my to-be-read list) as well as flying-under-the-radar titles.

I will know I’m taking this a little too seriously when I begin noting whether the books I’m browsing through at Quail Ridge Books & Music happen to have a lovely red spine.

(One of these days, I’ll snap the photo at just the right time of day to avoid glare and show off each book equally well.)

  1. […] Postscript/update, December 2012: Don’t miss the 2nd Annual Books-on-Cakeplate Holiday Edition display in our 2012 post. […]

Leave a Reply

Honoring Viki

“I would not like to live without dancing, without unknown roads to explore, without the confidence that my actions were helpful to some.” Sam Keene

99U

Empowering the Creative Community

Brain Pickings

An inventory of the meaningful life.

E.R.Murray

Writer, reader, lover of adventures and all things outdoors.

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

Lost in a Book

Mother-daughter dynamic duo (covering the key 15- to 51-year-old demographic) waxes poetic about kids' books

