notes

A big day on the trail… 5.5, baby!

In run reports, running on March 5, 2012 at 1:38 am

Miles, that is.

I crossed the 5-mile barrier for the first time today and lived to tell the tale. The execution wasn’t pretty or fast – there were walking breaks aplenty – but I covered the distance, and MY KNEES HELD UP.

This is big. Even if I never ever make it 5 or 6 miles (six is my target for a race later this month) running the entire way, the fact that my knees and lungs hold up for that distance under any circumstance feels like:

a) A huge milestone after my fits-and-starts, ailing-knee-plagued training over the past year and a half.

b) A good sign for the future … maybe my knees can handle running, after all.

A few years back, my girl got a lead role in a school musical based on the ‘Tortoise and the Hare’; when she found out that the speedy Hare actually loses the race, she was TICKED. Her logical first-grade brain assumed that as the Hare, she would win, and I think first-graders like to win even more than your usual human being. But she sucked up her indignation and did a beautiful job.

The competitive side of me really, really wants to be a graceful, speedy Hare; I see them all around me, and I want to finish half marathons and marathons at impressive speeds like they do. But all indicators point to me being a perpetual Tortoise, and as in the story, my wish is for this Tortoise to win the prize that matters – being able to get outdoors and blow off 3-6 miles’ worth of steam three or four times a week, for years to come, at whatever pace keeps my knees functioning.

Cracking the 5-mile mark — and actually enjoying it – feels GOOD.

  1. Go get ’em, sis!

Leave a Reply

Honoring Viki

“I would not like to live without dancing, without unknown roads to explore, without the confidence that my actions were helpful to some.” Sam Keene

99U

Empowering the Creative Community

Brain Pickings

An inventory of the meaningful life.

E.R.Murray

Writer, reader, lover of adventures and all things outdoors.

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

Lost in a Book

Mother-daughter dynamic duo (covering the key 15- to 51-year-old demographic) waxes poetic about kids' books

