notes

The heft of words.

In writing on January 26, 2012 at 10:30 pm

I unearthed my mother’s refurbished 1940s Remington Rand portable typewriter from a pile of nostalgia in a dark corner of her guest room on my last visit to Virginia. She seemed pleased that I was interested in this prized possession dating back to her college days, and she was happy to let me bring it home. I made a spot for it in my sunroom on a small wooden table I rescued from a Prague flea market years ago. It sits next to my front door, so I can see it every time I leave home and return.

It is sleek and beautiful, heavy and old-fashioned. When I contrast it to my comparably featherweight MacBook, I thank the Apple gods for saving my posture, but also believe that the Remington Rand has a certain substantive feel – a sense of permanence – that slender Macs never will. I wish I could say that I brought it home intending to put it to use, but I am too poor a typist and too spoiled by technology.

But I did roll a sheet of paper onto the platen (though the thin copy paper felt all wrong) and type one line, thinking how my fingers would ache if I tried to write a chapter, much less a book, on the Remington.

And this made me stop and wonder how much the minutiae of the creative process is driven by the tools we use. As I worked to hit the smooth black and gold keys hard enough to stamp letters onto the page, I wondered if writers in the heyday of the manual typewriter wrote and revised in their heads more than we do in our plugged-in, easy-edit existence.

I can imagine a time-traveled version of myself in the 1940s, sitting still in front of the Remington for long stretches between typing bouts, coming up with a sentence, then revising it a dozen times in my mind’s eye before striking keys to record it. I believe going about writing this way might make me stop and consider the weight of each word more carefully than I do now, given the knowledge that now I can – in theory, anyway – so easily go back later and insert the perfect word.

But how often do I get lazy, forgetting to revisit my sentences and find just the right words? The thought makes me want to ditch the MacBook for the Remington Rand and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

Honoring Viki

“I would not like to live without dancing, without unknown roads to explore, without the confidence that my actions were helpful to some.” Sam Keene

99U

Empowering the Creative Community

Brain Pickings

An inventory of the meaningful life.

E.R.Murray

Writer, reader, lover of adventures and all things outdoors.

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

Lost in a Book

Mother-daughter dynamic duo (covering the key 15- to 51-year-old demographic) waxes poetic about kids' books

