notes

‘back in the saddle.’ ‘on the road again.’ and all those other classics about getting off one’s @$$.

In running on January 9, 2012 at 4:42 pm

After two months of what I’d call cerebral or stress-draining runs – i.e., I went out without any hard and fast distance or plan in mind and stopped to walk whenever I felt like it – I craved having a goal again.

I found out this fall that monster goals (i.e., half-marathons or above) are probably beyond what the creaking cartilage in my knees can withstand, but I want to push myself a little more than a 5K.  So tomorrow, with the help of my patient triathlete friend and volunteer ‘coach,’ I start a very easy-going training plan to run a 10K (6.2-mile) race that many of my friends love: the Cooper River Bridge Run in Charleston at the end of March.

I know the truly competitive running converts would see this 6.2 as low-hanging fruit, but it fits with my running goal, which is to go with whatever combination of pace, distance and frequency allows me to run consistently for the rest of my life. If that means running short distances at a slow pace forever (versus pushing myself and end up hobbling to the point that I can’t run even a mile), I think I can live with that lack of achievement.

Leave a Reply

Honoring Viki

“I would not like to live without dancing, without unknown roads to explore, without the confidence that my actions were helpful to some.” Sam Keene

99U

Empowering the Creative Community

Brain Pickings

An inventory of the meaningful life.

E.R.Murray

Writer, reader, lover of adventures and all things outdoors.

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

Lost in a Book

Mother-daughter dynamic duo (covering the key 15- to 51-year-old demographic) waxes poetic about kids' books

