notes

Bookish holiday decor, Part 1

In miscellany, reading on December 12, 2011 at 3:28 pm

As mentioned in a post over on the kids’ book blog I write with my 10-year-old, I use my grandmother’s cake plate to show off books instead of cake, due to my lack of willpower when it comes to dessert.

Stealing an ingenious and colorful idea from a fall display at the Cameron Village branch of the Wake County Libraries – a slew of book covers in beautiful shades of orange – I changed up my platter for the holidays. Now a small tower of books with red (and a couple of other complementary colors) spines are part of our Christmas decorating, alongside two Auntie Claus picture books.

If you are a better engineer than I am, you may want to join the inventive souls who are building Christmas trees out of books this year ~ there’s now a slide show of the many trees created after word got out about this new take on bookish decorating.

On a musical note, this year I have vowed to finally carry on the tradition of an elderly-but-full-of-verve family friend who died a decade ago. Miriam ‘illustrated’ Christmas carol titles in her holiday decorating; for instance, hanging from the ceiling via fishing line in front of a bay window were several angels ~ i.e., ‘Angels We Have Heard On High.’ I only have a few days left, but I think I can do it.

Do you have unique and/or sentimental ways of trimming your house for the holidays? If so, please share in a comment below.

(See Part II ~ the story of our holiday picture book decor ~ over on the Lost in a Book blog that my 10-year-old daughter and I write about kids’ books.)

Postscript/update, December 2012: Don’t miss the 2nd Annual Books-on-Cakeplate Holiday Edition display in our 2012 post.

  1. Reblogged this on REvisions and commented:
    My sister’s simple but cool decorating idea.

  2. Well, I would love this idea even if The Friendship Doll was not in that gorgeous stack of color and story! Thank you.

  3. […] year, I took a decades-old cake plate passed on to me by my mother and piled it high with beautiful books with red, red-and-white spines in celebration of the holidays; on my first try, I realized that this […]

Leave a Reply

Honoring Viki

“I would not like to live without dancing, without unknown roads to explore, without the confidence that my actions were helpful to some.” Sam Keene

99U

Empowering the Creative Community

Brain Pickings

An inventory of the meaningful life.

E.R.Murray

Writer, reader, lover of adventures and all things outdoors.

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

Lost in a Book

Mother-daughter dynamic duo (covering the key 15- to 51-year-old demographic) waxes poetic about kids' books

