notes

The opposite of running.

In running on October 28, 2011 at 12:51 am

Yesterday began with 2.5 hours in a dentist’s chair; I was complimented for my ability to remain still and not flinch.

Today, I showed up for my first-ever MRI and was taken aback to hear that it was going to take half an hour — a half hour in which I wasn’t supposed to move my knee. At all. Then there was a problem with the first attempts, and 30 minutes stretched to 45.

In neither scenario did I find it difficult to maintain almost perfect stillness, which is a bit of a mystery. I’ve tried to sit still to meditate for five or 10 minutes many times, and I never last more than about one or two.  I’ve never been able to meditate for more than about a minute; my mind ‘Rolodexes’ (a friend coined that excellent phrase), and soon I’m up and off to the races, knocking a few items off of the ‘to-do’ list. Researches say that our crazy, overloaded lives mean we regularly experience the fight-or-flight adrenaline rushes that were originally reserved for life-or-death situations back in ye old days, and I believe it.

Now I just need to figure out how to translate my ability to sit perfectly still in dental/medical settings to sitting still in everyday life.  Maybe it’s a matter of giving myself the same authority I automatically cede to  the dentist and the MRI tech?  They told me to be still, and I did it; no problem. Even with needles and drills involved.

Surely,  I can manage to sit still for 15 minutes for the more pleasant outcome of a clear head? I overcame my running challenge; maybe sitting still will be next.

Leave a Reply

Honoring Viki

“I would not like to live without dancing, without unknown roads to explore, without the confidence that my actions were helpful to some.” Sam Keene

99U

Empowering the Creative Community

Brain Pickings

An inventory of the meaningful life.

E.R.Murray

Writer, reader, lover of adventures and all things outdoors.

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

Lost in a Book

Mother-daughter dynamic duo (covering the key 15- to 51-year-old demographic) waxes poetic about kids' books

