notes

Saturday wake-up calls.

In running on September 24, 2011 at 1:01 am

Last year at this time,  I was struggling to get used to the idea of getting out of bed at 7 a.m. to meet my 5K training group by 8 a.m.  I’m not a morning person, and I was barely a runner, so this was a double whammy for me.

But I managed to do those Saturday morning slogs to the art museum or various parks around town. I came to think of these meeting/running spots as either miserable or quite nice, solely based on the number of hills on their trails.

Tomorrow will be my first early Saturday slog as a mentor for the 5K program, and I’m trying very hard to stave off the ‘what was I thinking?’ train of thought and go with a peppier script …  ‘isn’t it heart-warming that a whole year has gone by since those first miserable Saturday  long runs and you’re STILL running?’

Since I don’t do peppy first thing in the morning, those warm, fuzzy feelings probably won’t materialize until I’ve finished and made it to a coffee shop for my caffeine fix.

Here’s to doing things you never thought you could do — and better yet, helping other people get there, too.

Leave a comment

Honoring Betty

Celebrating a beautiful life

Honoring Viki

“I would not like to live without dancing, without unknown roads to explore, without the confidence that my actions were helpful to some.” Sam Keene

The Marginalian

Marginalia on our search for meaning.

E.R.Murray

Writer, reader, lover of adventures and all things outdoors.

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

Lost in a Book

Mother-daughter dynamic duo (covering the key 15- to 51-year-old demographic) waxes poetic about kids' books