notes

backwards?

In writing on September 11, 2011 at 12:33 am

I realize now that I have gone about this book-writing thing backwards compared to most writers.

Most writers do the collaborating up front. They take do the logical, open-minded approach of joining writers’ groups and exchanging chapters for critiques all along the way. Now that I’m nearly finished, I am sharing excerpts more and more freely and comfortably, but before that, my sharing was sparse and informal. It’s not that I didn’t think my work could use critiquing; it seems to me that that’s a given for all but the most supernaturally gifted writers.

But for me, the joy of this project has come from the hours of stolen, solitary writing and imagining time – the exercise of seeing what my brain could conjure up. I knew myself well enough to be able to forecast the effect that writing groups and regular feedback would have – I would have begun second-guessing many of my decisions, and the joy of sitting around imagining the next twist and turn would have been lost.

I had to daydream and scribble and sketch and slowly type my way through the story alone and get the bones in place before throwing the story out for critique. I guess pragmatism would call for getting real-world feedback as early and often as possible in order to get to the desired end: a published book.

But this has always been as much about the — I apologize in advance for this tired metaphor – journey as it has the destination, and even if my solitary process means I’m left with a manuscript that doesn’t fly in the real world, I wouldn’t change anything.

Leave a Reply

Honoring Viki

“I would not like to live without dancing, without unknown roads to explore, without the confidence that my actions were helpful to some.” Sam Keene

99U

Empowering the Creative Community

Brain Pickings

An inventory of the meaningful life.

E.R.Murray

Writer, reader, lover of adventures and all things outdoors.

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

Lost in a Book

Mother-daughter dynamic duo (covering the key 15- to 51-year-old demographic) waxes poetic about kids' books

